Photo of Dr. Valerie Irvine

3M National Teaching Fellowship Program

In 1986, the Society for Teaching and Learning in higher Education (STLHE) and 3M Canada partnered to recognize exceptional contributions to teaching and learning at Canadian Universities. The community of 3M National Teaching Fellows embodies the highest ideals of teaching excellence and scholarship with a commitment to encourage and support the educational experience.

Alan Blizzard Award

The Alan Blizzard Award was established to encourage, identify, and publicly recognize those whose exemplary collaboration in university teaching enhances student learning. The Award honours Dr. Alan Blizzard, STLHE President from 1987 to 1995, and his convictions about the effectiveness of collaboration in team teaching for student learning. Until 2012, the Award was sponsored by McGraw-Hill Ryerson. The Award seeks to make visible and disseminate scholarship of teaching and learning, based on values and practices of collaborative teaching.

D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning

Established in 2012, the D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning, sponsored by D2L (Desire2Learn), celebrates and recognizes up to five post-secondary collaborative teams each year for their innovative approaches that promote student-centred teaching and learning.

Christopher Knapper Lifetime Achievement Award

In 2002, STLHE created this award to honour individuals who have, over their career, made significant contributions to teaching, learning and educational development in Canadian higher education.

Online Learning Consortium Awards of Excellence

OLC recognizes members of the community twice each year on two separate award cycles – in the spring at OLC Innovate, and in the fall at OLC Accelerate.

window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'G-YDG44PNR15');